That 90’s Post

I, despite all possible distractions, have managed to keep up with my Google Reader for the past week. I’m ridiculously proud of this. You think I’d built a house for the homeless out of dryer lint. No, nothing so useful or difficult. I managed to click things. Where’s my medal?

This is a slammer, kids. Look it up.

Anywho, I was reading over at The Rejectionist (like you do, because it’s awesome) and they had a guest post earlier in the week by Bryan Russell.  The post, here, was simply fabulous. I cannot recommend it highly enough to everyone, writer or not.

It was kind of a wake up call for me. I know that I’ve been drifting and distracted since graduation. I told myself it would be OK to take some time off and relax, but the whole time I’ve been putting off writing it’s been knocking around in my head that I’ll never have this amount of free time again. Someday I’ll have a family, and somehow even more responsibility. I need to write now, while I can, and I need to be serious about it.

I’ve been trying to make bargains with myself, but it turns out that I won’t write a thousand words a day. I won’t write a page a day. When it got to the point where I assigned myself a sentence a day (with the (vain) hopes that I would actually write more) I stopped and asked myself what I thought I was doing.

I can’t even write a sentence a day? What is wrong with me?

I don’t even know why I can’t just sit and make myself write. Why does it have to be so difficult?

I’m thinking that part of the problem is that I’ve never written a book before, and it seems like a daunting task. I’m not making the amount of progress on Trenchcoat that I’d like. As in, I’m not making any progress at all. I’m getting frustrated because I don’t know how to go about things, and that frustration causes me not to try. The less I try, the more frustrated I get. It’s a vicious cycle.

It’s at this point every day that I just start watching Lost (Lost is awesome. There shall be no argument.)

Sonic weapon fence all up in your grill!

Leave a comment